Looking Forward to 2012: Looking for YOUR Help

Hello there, friends and readers. The year is rapidly winding to a close and with it the articles I’ve been doing for a year. This is my first year of very seriously writing about movies, and I’ve been keeping to a pretty regular schedule for nearly six months now. This week is a rare week off mostly because A) I’m lazy, especially this time of year and B) I wanted to spend the time to build back up the backlog of articles and put some serious thought into my end of year stuff.

But while I do that, I also was considering what I wanted to do with this movie-writing hobby of mine in 2012. I’ve received a pretty overwhelming show of support by you guys, even when admittedly some of the content I’ve been putting out is pretty narrow in who it would appeal to. As a fairly amateur writer, that feedback has been instrumental in getting me through the rough days when this hobby seems like too much work. So I wanted to say thank you to anyone who reads this and has ever commented on one of my pieces. You guys keep me going, no joke.

In 2012 I plan to keep doing what I’m doing. Criterion Cuts isn’t going anywhere. I’ll probably do a few more Directed Viewings (though maybe not right away and hopefully with more popular directors than Jarmusch). But I wanted to solicit ideas on what people wanted to see from me. I feel like the things I’ve been focusing on have been stuff that I just don’t see a lot of, so I do those, but I’m open to suggestions as I try to branch out and tackle new things. So what I’m looking for you guys for is the following:

  • Any feature ideas you’d like to see. I don’t care how crazy or lengthy they might be. Hell, I’ve been considering doing biweekly write ups of every Bond film chronologically as I revisit them for the first time in a decade. Scope isn’t a problem.
  • Any directors you’d like to see me take a stab at in future Directed Viewings. For the record, I’ve already done Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Kevin Smith, the Coen Brothers, Spielberg, Scorsese, and Jarmusch. But anyone else is fair game. It’s likely left to my own devices I’m going to do a Kubrick one before too long, but other suggestions are welcome, as I could do a few of these a year without too much trouble.
  • Any series you’d like to see tackled in Serious About Series. Anything. I like doing these a lot, and they were probably always my most popular feature, but I don’t really find myself with a brilliant idea for one very often.
  • Any feedback on what you don’t like me doing, or feel I could improve on, or anything else. Please try to keep it constructive, because my ego is super fragile, but I know that I’m a bit raw and I’d love to hear from anyone who wants to step up how they think I can improve.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got. End of year stuff drops next week, and then Criterion Cuts resumes the week after that. Probably won’t be adopting any of your suggestions until mid-January with that schedule, but this gives me some time to work Netflix queues and whatnot if someone comes up with something particularly complex. Thanks again, you guys. You’re all the best, and hopefully 2012 will be a year of great movies and good writing about them.

About M

Artist, ne'er do well, militant queer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking Forward to 2012: Looking for YOUR Help

  1. Trevor says:

    As far as Directed Viewings go, I’d suggest Ang Lee and/or Don Coscarelli.

    Otherwise (when I’m not too lazy to read) I’ve enjoyed your stuff.

  2. Stuart says:

    You expect me to not reply to this with “Directed Viewings – Herzog”? Cos also, then I’d totally be able to read the pieces. (I have this weird rule from the past couple of years where I absolutely will not read about a film I haven’t seen, because I’m sick of being spoiled constantly, and having to go LALALALALA CAN’T HEAR YOU LALALALA until I’ve managed to sit down and watch something for the first time.)

    I’d also like to see weirder stuff on here. Things you’d never usually watch. Like every Steven Segal movie. Not that, particularly, but along those lines. There are lots of Straight to DVD action ‘stars’ with huge back catalogues; guys who never trouble the theatres. I was thinking of doing something like that with the awful MMA movies that have come out these past few years. Weird and wonderful would be good, more eclectic. But yeah, keep up the good work.

  3. I’d like to see you go through Lars Von Trier or Darren Aronofsky.

    Both are modern-day directors, and both produce films that seem like they’d be very fruitful, writing-wise.

    At the very least I wanna hear what you think about ‘Antichrist’. That movie is bananas.

    Oh, and Paul Thomas Anderson. All three of these directors are overflowing with Auteur-ishness.

Leave a Reply

