State of the Blog: 2013

Hey everybody. It’s been a long time since I’ve sat down and just wrote a thing, but it’s time to get on that shit, so I figured I’d take some time and give you the low down on what exactly has been going on. That includes what’s been going on in my life, in brief, and what I’ve been doing writing wise. Things are changing around here in 2013, and I want to be really up front about what you can expect. So, this isn’t going to be movie-focused at all, so if all you want is to know when you can expect movie writing, look at the bold bits that’ll be tossed in here.

Last year I wrote a ton of articles. No, that’s not hyperbole, that’s science. Honestly, I stopped keeping track at some point, but I easily crossed 300,000 words. That’s a lot. That’s three good sized novels or one Stephen King novel. And that’s on top of watching 480-some movies, reading a bunch of books, changing jobs, getting something of a social life, and a dozen other things that have been going on that I don’t really want to get into. Things are actually pretty good, which is stunning for someone who (if I can overshare a little) kind of defined his life by waiting around for bad things to happen.

But the downside is that I’m busy. Not just with things that I was doing, but with things I want to do and didn’t really have it in me to tackle before. Like working on fiction writing again, or picking up hobbies, or going out with friends. So I just don’t have the time or energy to tear through movies like I used to. And when I do sit down to write about movies, I feel like I could be and should be saying more than I have been. I’m happy with a lot of my 2012 work, but so much of it was simply perfunctory parts of projects. I’m tired of doing that just to fulfill a schedule that I don’t actually need to keep.

So, to start with, I’m stopping Criterion Cuts and Directed Viewing as regular features. No, they aren’t gone for good, but I need to only bring them out when it makes sense to. I mean, I do still want to continue writing about the directors I’ve already covered in this project. Which means, you guessed it, you can expect pieces on both Django Unchained and Lincoln in the next few weeks. I’m very excited to talk about both, especially Django, which I have so much I want to dig into if I can figure out how to do it right. 

In the meantime, that means I need to rethink my publishing schedule. The newly launched Toho Kaiju Monogatari will go up every Friday of 2013 until I run out of movies or weeks. I hope people like that one, because I’ve spent a lot of time working on it and will continue to work on it for the next couple of months. The rest of the week, until further notice, one as-yet-to-be-determined piece of writing will go up each week on Tuesday. These could be Criterion Cuts, Directed Viewing pieces, reviews, essays, lists (perish the thought, but you never know), Serious About Series (there will absolutely be a Fast and the Furious SoS before Fast Six comes out), or even something else I haven’t yet thought of. I’d like to experiment with the form my movie writing takes more this year, so expect to see a pretty motley assortment in that second slot. Likewise, if anything extra comes up (like podcasts, which I’d like to do more of), they’ll just go up on random weekdays unassociated with any publishing schedule.

And that’s really it, I think. As always, you can catch me through email (nonamemovies at gmail dot com), or through twitter (@litrock), where I will undoubtedly tweet a whole god damn lot about everything I’m watching. You can also check me out on letterboxd, where I don’t do anything more than rate what I’ve seen. More interestingly, I’m trying to put together a flickr project where I take photos for every movie I watch in 2013, along with a bit of text about why I chose to watch it. That set is still early, and might not end up being that interesting, but you can find it here.

And that’s it. I was going to do a most-anticipated of 2013, but honestly you can google that and find infinitely more and better writing than I could produce. I’m excited for all the obvious things, go figure, and can’t wait to be surprised. Otherwise, feel free to yell at me or suggest interesting writing ideas in the comments or in email. Let’s all have a good 2013 together! At least, I hope it’s going to be good. Crossing my fingers. Let’s watch a ton of movies and talk about them. Because that’s what we’re really here for.

About M

Artist, ne'er do well, militant queer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of the Blog: 2013

  1. thatfrood says:

    While it’s sad that there are going to be fewer features, it’s good to hear that you’ve got a busy life and are doing well. You mentioned you were doing some fiction writing, any chance you’ll be posting some of that anywhere?

Leave a Reply

